Thursday, June 17, 2010

Royal Society Prize for Science Books

The longlist for this year's Royal Society Prize for Science Books - the world's most prestigious award for science writing - has been announced.

* We Need To Talk About Kelvin by Marcus Chown
* Why Does E=mc2? By Brian Cox and Jeff Forshaw
* Why Evolution is True by Jerry A. Coyne
* In Search of the Multiverse by John Gribbin
* Everyday Practice of Science: Where Intuition and Passion Meet Objectivity and Logic by Frederick Grinnell
* God’s Philosophers: How the medieval world laid the foundations of modern science by James Hannam
* Storms of My Grandchildren by James Hansen
* Darwin’s Island: The Galapagos in the Garden of England by Steve Jones
* Life Ascending by Nick Lane
* The Master and his Emissary: The Divided Brain and the Making of the Western World by Iain McGilchrist
* Complexity: A Guided Tour by Melanie Mitchell
* A World Without Ice by Henry Pollack

The judges on the judging panel are: Maggie Philbin, radio & television presenter (Chair); Professor Tim Birkhead, Fellow of the Royal Society; Tracy Chevalier, author; Robin Ince, stand-up comedian, writer & actor; Dr Janet Anders, Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellow.

The shortlist will be announced on 24th August 2010.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails