Monday, April 12, 2010

Pulitzer Prize winners 2010

The 2010 Pulitzer Prize winners include:

Fiction - Tinkers by Paul Harding (Bellevue Literary Press)

Poetry - Versed by Rae Armantrout (Wesleyan University Press)

The literary prizes which are for distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life, and for a distinguished volume of original verse by an American poet, have been awarded since 1948 and 1922 respectively.

Previous distinguished winners include:


1953: The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
1961: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
1982: Rabbit Is Rich by John Updike
1983: The Color Purple by Alice Walker
1994: The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx
2005: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

and poetry:

1924: New Hampshire: A Poem with Notes and Grace Notes by Robert Frost
1947: Lord Weary's Castle by Robert Lowell
1954: The Waking by Theodore Roethke
1963: Pictures from Brueghel by William Carlos Williams
1982: The Collected Poems by Sylvia Plath
2009: The Shadow of Sirius by W.S. Merwin

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails